The Simple Art of Flying

Author(s): Cory Leonardo

Middle Fiction (Reading Age 10-13 years)

"Delightfully quirky." --Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family.

Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ground...

Born in a dismal room in a pet store, Alastair the African grey parrot dreams of escape to bluer skies. He'd like nothing more than to fly away to a palm tree with his beloved sister, Aggie. But when Aggie is purchased by twelve-year-old Fritz, and Alastair is adopted by elderly dance-enthusiast and pie-baker Albertina Plopky, the future looks ready to crash-land.

In-between anxiously plucking his feathers, eating a few books, and finding his own poetic voice, Alastair plots his way to a family reunion. But soon he's forced to choose between the life he's always dreamed of and admitting the truth: that sometimes, the bravest adventure is in letting go.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781534420991
  • : Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
  • : Baker & Taylor
  • : February 2019
  • : 1.2 Inches X 5.5 Inches X 8.25 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Cory Leonardo
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : 384