By The Book A Novel Of Prose And Cons

Author: Amanda Sellet
Homepage_9780358156611

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $44.99(AUD)
  • : 9780358156611
  • : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
  • : HMH Books for Young Readers
  • :
  • :
  • : April 2020
  • : 1.25 Inches X 5.5 Inches X 8.25 Inches
  • :
  • : 0.0
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : 384
  • : Amanda Sellet
  • :
  • : [Fic]
  • : English
  • :
  • :
  • : Hardback
  • :
Barcode 9780358156611
9780358156611

Description

In this clever YA rom-com debut perfect for fans of Kasie West and Ashley Poston, a teen obsessed with nineteenth-century literature tries to cull advice on life and love from her favorite classic heroines to disastrous results--especially when she falls for the school's resident Lothario.


 


Mary Porter-Malcolm has prepared for high school in the one way she knows how: an extensive review of classic literature to help navigate the friendships, romantic liaisons, and overall drama she has come to expect from such an "esteemed" institution. When some new friends seem in danger of falling for the same tricks employed since the days of Austen and Tolstoy, Mary swoops in to create the Scoundrel Survival Guide, using archetypes of literature's debonair bad boys to signal red flags. But despite her best efforts, she soon finds herself unable to listen to her own good advice and falling for a supposed cad--the same one she warned her friends away from. Without a convenient rain-swept moor to flee to, Mary is forced to admit that real life doesn't follow the same rules as fiction and that if she wants a happy ending, she's going to have to write it herself.